Dwelling on the Positive

Having recently finished reading his copy of Injured Parties a friend wrote to me. I thought I would share some of the email which began:

“I can only apologise for not knowing how hard you must have been working over the last few years on your various projects…I can only apologise for not appreciating this when others have obviously been aware”.

I shall quote from an earlier email from the same person:

“…half-way through your book – I can’t believe how much detail there is, how much information you have gathered, how much time you must have spent on your research, how many miles you must have travelled. I have just finished ‘The Outsider’ by Frederick Forsythe where he talks about his travels to places for research on his books. It’s quite amazing the similarities – your command of the English language is equal and just as compelling – what a dark horse you are”.

What a generously spirited person to write this to me.

Then today I read the piece in the Chorleywood Magazine which gives details of my forthcoming talk for the Chorleywood Bookshop on 26th September. And to be called one of the ‘Top Ten Authors’ amongst names like Victoria Hislop, Damon Hill and Terry Waite, I feel truly humble.

http://chorleywoodmagazine.co.uk/10-top-authors-head-our-way/

I am learning to dwell only on the positive. It’s not always easy. I do my best. And to my friend who emailed such kind words to me, I’m truly grateful…. and rest assured that during the seven years of writing INJURED PARTIES I kept everything to myself. Only one person was aware of the work involved.

Leave a Reply

